The PSL’s 2020 drafting ceremony held at National Cricket Academy Lahore turned out to be an exciting contest as franchises came neck-to-neck in the bidding for the top-rated players.

The ceremony lasted for five hours at the end of which, we now have the finalized PSL 2020 team squad of each franchise.

We have already published a post on the list of players retained by each franchise and now let’s grab a quick look at the new signings made by each franchise.

PSL 2020 teams:

Same as the previous year, six teams will participate in the tournament. However, the entire tournament this year will be held in Pakistan.

Lahore Qalandars                                             Karachi Kings                                      Islamabad United

Quetta Gladiators                                              Peshawar Zalmi                                  Multan Sultan

PSL 2020 team squads – All new signings:

Lahore Qalandars:

Statistically, the most unfortunate side of the league, Lahore Qalandars, has gambled by making the young Sohail Akhtar the skipper of the squad. Lahore Qalandar’s PSL 2020 squad seems to be balanced and is set to make a comeback in the upcoming season. Here are all the new signings by Qalandar’s:

Platinum: Chris Lynn (Aus)

Gold: Samit Patel (Eng)

Silver: Ben Dunk(Aus), Seekkuge Prsanna(SL), Farzan Raja, Jaahid Ali

Emerging: M Faizan

Supplementary: Dilbar Hussain, Lendl Simmons(WI)

Karachi Kings:

Karachi Kings have got their hands on of the likes of hard hitters Sharjeel Khan and Alex Hales. The franchise has retained the deadly Mohammad Amir but has not yet revealed the name of its Captain.

New signings by Karachi Kings:

Platinum: Alex Hales (Eng)

Diamond: Chris Jordan (Eng)

Gold: Cameron Delport(SA), Sharjeel Khan,

Silver: Dan Lawrance(Eng),  Umaid Asif, Ali Khan, Mohammad Rizwan

Emerging: Arshad Iqbal

Supplementary: Liam Plunkett(Eng), Awais Zia

Quetta Gladiators:

The defending champs, Quetta Gladiators PSL 2020 team squad features one of the most clinical players of England’s world cup winning side – Jason Roy. Sarfaraz Ahmed will continue as the Captain, whereas season 4’s top scorer and man of the tournament Shane Watson will return to the side as the mentor.

Platinum: Jason Roy (Eng)

Diamond: Ben Cutting (Aus)

Gold: Fawad Ahmed

Silver: Sohail Khan, Tymal Mills (Eng), Abdul Nasir

Emerging: Azam Khan, Arish Ali Khan

Supplementary: Keemo Paul(WI), Khurram Manzoor

Islamabad United:

The most successful team of the championship with two titles to its name, Islamabad united have brought pace and thrill together by signing English serial-hitter Phil Salt and getting onboard the legendary infamous pacer, Dale Steyn.

Platinum: Dale Steyn(SA), Colin Ingram (SA),

Diamond: Colin Munro(NZ),

Gold: Rumman Raees,

Silver: Phil Salt(Eng), Zafar Gohar

Emerging: Aqif Javed, Ahmed Safi Abdullah

Supplementary: Rassie van der Dussen (SA), Saif Badar

Peshawar Zalmi:

Peshawar Zalmi has preferred consistency by retaining all the three platinum category players. The Zalmi fans’ all-time favorite, Darren Sammy will now continue as the mentor whereas the signing of the likes of Shoaib Malik aims to further strengthen the team’s PSL 2020 squad.

Diamond: Shoaib Malik, Tom Banton (Eng)

Gold: Liam Dawson (Eng)

Silver: Mohammad Mohsin, Dwaine Pretorius(SA), Rahat Ali, Adil Amin

Emerging: Amir Ali, Amir Khan

Supplementary:  Haider Ali Khan, Liam Livingstone(Eng)

Multan Sultans:

Often regarded as the underdogs, Multan Sultan has tried to strengthen their PSL 2020 team squad by including the likes of CWC 19 champions like Moen Ali. LALA has been retained by franchise in the diamond category and will return to the squad as the Mentor. The name of the skipper is yet to be announced.

Platinum: Rilee Rossouw(SA), Moeen Ali(Eng)

Diamond: Ravi Bopara (Eng), Zeeshan Ashraf

Gold: Sohail Tanvir

Silver: Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir, Fabian Allen (WI).

Emerging: Rohail Nazir

Supplementary: Imran Tahir, Bilawal Bhatti